We made it!

28 Mar

Lu has slept in her room the whole week! The first night was pretty bad: she woke up at 1, 3 and 4.30 crying! She never cries at night! Then the second night she woke up at 2 wanting to party, I fed her, swaddled her, popped her pacifier in her mouth, held her a bit while her eyes got heavy and then gently placed her back on her crib. Her eyes drifted closed and I went back to my bedroom. I was pulling the covers when I held a soft whine, the video monitor showed Lu trashing around with a pacifier free mouth. So I got out of bed and avoiding eye contact (despite the radiant smile aimed my way) popped the paci back in and tiptoed back to bed. I got in and heard a soft whine… After an hour of coming and going I have to confess I started getting a bit angry. Ok, ok very angry. So I woke Devoted Daddy and sent him to replace me. He went back and forth a couple of times without success. After two hours of dancing and wondering where our sweet dream feeding bay had gone we decided we were going to let her cry. So Lu´s whine turned to a loud protest and then to a high pitched wail, after maybe 30 seconds I went in scooped her up in my arms and carried her to our bed (I know, exactly what you´re not supposed to do) But when her whining, paci spitting, trashing started again I jumped out of bed and promptly dumped ( it sound awful to dump your daughter but she had bow been awake for 3 HOURS!!!!!)her back in her crib and turned the monitor volume to low. After 15 minutes of forcing myself no to peek at the camera I heard a weird noise: Lu was snoring!

We were very, very tempted to switch her back to our bedroom but luckily we decided we could handle one more night. I went to sleep at 11 with trepidation …and didn´t wake up once till 5!

So a I have to add new item to my “Things nobody tells you about parenting” list : Parenting is 10% inspiration and 90% persistence..

Leave a Reply

