Girls will be girls?

28 May

Ok, I admit it that I am not exactly girly. I´m not exactly a tomboy but I still wear pregnancy jeans not because they´re so comfy. I love Star Wars, Heroes, roller coasters and I only wear makeup for weddings.

Although I´m not a raving feminist Lu does wear pink dresses with bows and frilly socks and she owns a stuffed doll (used to be mine!). But I do believe women should be able to make choices about their lifestyle as should men.

That´s why when I was looking for a new toy for Lu and I saw this toys I got really sad:

All images form Amazon.com
Buying gender neutral toys for a baby is really easy, most of them naturally are. Lu does have an inherited princess type swing and a teddy bear that´s wearing blue pajamas. The thing is I feel when you give little baby girls purses and teapots and little boys balls and toolboxes you are sending a pretty powerful and not so subtle message about what is expected from them as girls and boys, and eventually as men and women.
Sure, I want my daughter to drink tea and carry her stuff in a purse is she chooses to but I also want her to be able to fix her own toilet and kick a soccer ball around on long summer evening. But mostly I want her to choose as a person and not as a stereotyped girl.

Lu and Ball

Votes on The Fence and Top Mommy Blogs are lovely but comments are the BEST!

5 Responses to “Girls will be girls?”

  1. Grace May 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Great topic for discussion. I agree that our toys are so gender stereotyped. We were playing over at a friend’s house the other week (2 yo girl) and my son was so intrigued by her dolls & their strollers and cradles. He naturally wanted to take care of the dolls and nurture and love on them. Made me feel really bad that he’s almost two and has never owned or played with a “doll.”

    • mommyandlu May 31, 2010 at 2:23 am #

      It´s tough for boys to play with dolls and even more so in the macho Mexican society!

  2. Devan @ AccustomedChaos May 28, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    That is why i am so thankful i have 1 boy and 2 girls –> we have both ‘gender’ of toys around. My daughters can play with cars and truck and mu son can play with dolls and ponies.

    I had a son first and I bought him a doll of his own when we were expecting our second (6mo) and he was so sweet with the doll🙂

    You raise a good point for discussion!

    • mommyandlu May 31, 2010 at 2:22 am #

      I think if I don´t have a son I will definitely get Lu boy toys however I think it doesn´t raise as mucho eyebrows for girls to play with boy toys as for boys to play with girl toys which I think is really sad since boys don´t get to explore their nurturing side…

  3. silenceandnoise June 7, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more. We are so aware of the things you talk about, we *try* not to get Bresho toys that enforce gender stereotypes.
    Confession: we buy Bresho girl’s jeans (without any butterflies, just plain jeans) just because they fit better.

Leave a Reply

