Foodie mommy…foodie baby?

10 Jul

I am a total complete foodie. A food nerd. I read about food, I talk about food, I tweet about food, I cook cooked and occasionally (due to a limited budget) I get to eat in the places I read, tweet and talk about. I follow celebrity chefs, plan trips around restaurants and watch all the food related TV shows I can find (no Food Network in Mexico sniff, sniff)

Lu has been eating solids for 2 months and it seemed that she wasn´t really taking after her mommy. We had introduced her to a pretty wide array of mashed, fresh fruits and veggies and as of Monday she tolerated papaya and zucchini, liked bananas, oatmeal and prunes (!) and hated mango! Who hates Manila mango?! (Which in case you haven´t had the pleasure of trying is incredibly sweet and smooth).

But on Monday I finally understood poor Lu: we were having lunch at the yummiest Japanese restaurant ever and Phia (my niece) who is a very adventurous eater was happily munching on tofu from a Miso soup. My sister, who was also feeding her 2 year old daughter slivers of raw tuna mentioned that Phia was about Lu´s age when she had tofu for the first time. Well, I couldn´t resist and fed Lu a tiny piece of tofu and… Lu absolutely loved it, her eyebrows went up exactly mimicking my “Oh my God this is heaven!” face. Then she eagerly awaited the next bite with a wide open mouth. Then I remembered this Baby Grows in Brooklyn post and this Dear Baby post and I realized that my baby girl is definitely a foodie! A foodie whose introduction to wonderful world of flavor has been a bunch of overcooked, unseasoned veggies and mashed overripe fruit!

The problem is that Lu not only inherited her mom´s love of yummy food she also inherited her allergies: when carrots can give you a rash spices can seem a bit scary.

What are your suggestions? When did you introduce your baby to food that actually tastes like what we grownups eat?

3 Responses to “Foodie mommy…foodie baby?”

  1. Grace @ Arms Wide Open July 10, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    my son LOVES tofu too! he’s been eating it since he was about 7 months old! i think a lot of times we are afraid to season baby food, but seriously, i say why not? i wouldn’t want to eat bland mushy food either! i think you can add seasoning gradually & hopefully she’ll grow to be a non picky eater and accustomed to lots of flavors!

  2. babyinbrooklyn July 13, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    I think it’s all about experimentation. When we first started giving Ivy ‘adult’ food she would hold stuff, and lick it first before chowing down or throwing it on the floor. Her current favorite is grilled zucchini, and I can’t say I blame her!

  3. silenceandnoise September 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    This is amazing!! Bresho HATES food. Not a foodie at all. It seems like Lu will be happy to experiment with different kinds of food. Lucky to have a foodie mom!❤

Leave a Reply

