Teacher mommy

20 Oct

When I was pregnant I asked my teacher mommy friends (ok friend) if she tough that being a teacher made her a better mom. Her answer was plain and simply “No, but being a mom made me a better teacher” I understood the first part of her answer as soon as Lu was born: no amount of dealing with time tables, upset stomachs, mean girls or even teaching long division remotely prepared me for being a mom. It wasn’t easier or harder, it wasn’t more tiring or relaxing it was just plain different. And then I went back to teaching and I understood the second part of her answer but I also discovered that being a teacher doesn’t prepare you for motherhood but it does make you a better mom (I hope)

For me being a mommy-teacher means:
-I like it when Lu gets up at 6; it means I get to see her before I go to work.
-I use every spare second in school to plan and grade because I refuse to give up a second of my mommy
-I am always placing myself in my student’s mom’s shoes. When one of them acts out I always ask myself how I would like Lu´s teacher to handle the situation.
-I can somehow manage to take Lu to doctors appointment, classes, to never run out of formula or diapers or cereal, to have my husbands favorite food ready to be turned into meals, to grade notebooks, turn lesson plans in on time, plan fun activities (for Lu and my students) yet I haven’t colored my hair in ages (thanks for the premature gray hair dad), I haven’t exercised in ages (and it shows) and I haven’t seen my friends in ages…
-Motherhood has made me a more compassionate, patient, loving, creative, focused and easy-going teacher and being a teacher has made me a more confident, trusting, easy-going, fun-loving mom.

I am really lucky to be able to have a part-time job I really like but the love of my life is now definitely my bright-eyed, funny daughter.

4 Responses to “Teacher mommy”

  1. nicky October 20, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    I am sure Lu will be awfully proud once she learns to see the kind of mommy-teacher you are and how all your students worship you! I don’t expect any less from Lu🙂 xoxo

  2. Adriana October 20, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    Ame tu post. Gracias Karen.

  3. Arturo October 22, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    You don´t have to thednk me for your grey hair. Comes with the territory

  4. hanna October 28, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Hi there! I am your newest follower! I found you on the Fence! I love finding new blogs and yours is lovely:) You can find me at http://www.bouffeebambini.blogspot.com

    I’m a foodie mom too

    take a peek at my giveaways if you come by. Everything is handmade and gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

