Halloween one year later

2 Nov

Last year Devoted Daddy, my huge pregnant belly and I carved a jack o lantern called Clari (short for Clarinet, Lu´s nickname while in my belly). My memories of that day are pretty vague but I remember the excitement of thinking that next year this family tradition would include a new member.

This year our little almost one year old had a blast putting her hands inside pumpkin goop and scaring her mommy by putting pumpkin seeds into her mouth again and again. She also handed out candy dressed as a pink skeleton (ok she wouldn’t let go of the candy but she grabbed it all right ), bounced excitedly every time she saw kids in costume and tried to follow them into the elevator when they left. She then had spaghetti for dinner, took an extra warm bath, cried like crazy when I gave her the damm flu medicine and went to bed. Then Devoted Daddy and I worked on finishing our work of art: a Lu jack o lantern with a carved flower pacifier and everything. We really enjoyed the whole ritual in which I trace, he carves and I detail. But our favorite part was actually new and meant tiny hands delightedly grabbing seed and goop and trying to eat them again and again.

2 Responses to “Halloween one year later”

  1. babyinbrooklyn November 2, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Our little pumpkin did the same thing. She kept trying to eat the pumpkin guts and seeds! Then when we’d say no she tried to feed them to us. My husband says it’s because she loves squash!

  2. diana November 2, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    la emoción de Lucy en todo lo que hace, provoca que el mundo se convierta en un lugar más excitante y maravilloso y que podamos gozar todo otra vez como si fuera la primera!! nos encantó imaginarla con la calabaza, los niños y los dulces!!!

Leave a comment